ROBO! Robotica Song pick of the year twenty and ten

[tlr] – “Never Ender”



The year has come to an end and here we are again, another year older trying to figure out what kind of bullshit to try and keep to the coming year.  With every year comes that one song that stays in our heads and just cant get it out.  It could be anything really, something with a great beat, a great woman singing her ass off, a drum blast over a synth, anything really.  Since the start of RR we have tried to release as much different stuff as we could without getting carried away.  Sometimes its hard to say no to people, and when you come from a background of having your own project you know getting told no is the worst feeling ever.  Over the course of a year and a half or so RR has put out 60 releases from a variety of great musicians.  We got humans from Texas, The UK, Indonesia, Denmark, just to name a few.  This year we put together a compilation in the Spring with good intentions and to date it still has the most daily, weekly, and monthly downloads from all the releases put out before and after it.  The first installment of Spring Cleaning Music made a ton of noise and had such a great lineup of music that I still cant believe we put it out.  On that album was a song called “Never Ender” by San Diego native Taylor Shechet who goes by alias [tlr].  I cant speak for everyone but this song really stuck out to me (notice how I go from we to me/this is a one man show) from the moment I got a hold of it.  Personally I was having a funk of a year when it came to producing music for my project A Beautiful Lotus.  I had a daughter and she took up most if not all my time.  Yes she sat on my lap as I wrote most of the ambient albums I put out but I couldn’t do more than that at the time.  I became really good e-friends with Taylor and was inspired by his motivation and drive towards music production and anything art in general.  I myself found myself feeding off of our AIM conversations for knowledge and inspiration which I had little of the past few years.  With the song “Never Ender” it touched a nerve inside of me with the never ending diaper changes, bottle feedings, rocking to sleeps, not getting laids, running out of weeds, being brokes, house payment to dam highs, McDonalds, masturbating, sweeping, dishes, cleaning the litter,  pizza boxes, not getting laid, showers, long drives, and so on.  I guess what i’m trying to say is that this song really got me through some tough times and with that I pick this as the song of the year here at ROBO! Robotica.  Taylor will receive a round trip bus trip to the location of his choosing, an all day at the spa package from our good friends at Whank it out, and also an all you can eat all year gift card to Pizza Mountain the home of the Pizza Mountain.  I would like to thank everyone who has been involved in making this net label what it is today and will be tomorrow.  I really love giving you another outlet for free music to be put out onto the world and for free no less.  We are looking for 2011 to be one hell of a year so we hope you stay here with us at RR and well keep helping kill your hard drive.  From all of us (me Phil) here at ROBO! Robotica id like to wish you a Happy New Year and please put rockets in your butts with caution.  And always remember life will always be a NEVVERR ENDDDERR  -RR!

“right click, save as”

Posted on December 31, 2010, in RR News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks dude, I’m glad you liked it so much. That means a lot to me.

    [tlr]

  2. <33 lovd it!

  3. I like your posts! You know exactly how to set the stage and follow up.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention ROBO! Robotica Song pick of the year twenty and ten: -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

