RR.86 – earth dies screaming – black wizardry

Visit the archive

Finally it is here!  Alert the presses!  The official release of Black Wizardry by the Austin native Earth Dies Screaming.  Unofficially released on MySpace sometime in 2009 this album never saw the true light of day.  The creation of this album was  mentally draining on lead dood of EDS, DuckMan.  Ill include his notes after this text so you can get the real details on creating this album.  Now, if you have kept up with what we have done here on ROBO! and if you’ve kept up with what we’ve done even before this you know about Earth Dies Screaming.  I met DuckMan sometime in 2005 or so, he had a project with another friend of ours Chance called Game Over.  When I first met these guys I didn’t know what to expect being from so far, not really, away.  They ended up being some of the coolest cats I’ve ever run into during my time doing this thing I call a “Job.”  But now back to this album, I’ve been waiting to hear this album for sometime now and you bet your ass I burned a copy and put it in the car, yeah fuck Ipods.  This album was way before its time and I bet you wouldn’t have known the difference if I was on here yapping on about it.  This album has a little bit of everything, chippy breaks, heavy synth, fat chords, and great vocals to say the least.  We are very honored to release this album in its entirety and hope to see alot more from EDS in the near future.  Just so you know this is “A Ton of Free Music Week” at ROBO! Robotica in celebration of Phil’s birthday which is on Sunday the 18th of September.  Look forward to a ton of free music this weekend and always. -RR!

DUCKMAN SAYS:

This album was me trying to break the mold that I was so accustumed to hearing. Trying to create something different, something unusual and out of the ordinary. A sound so different, perhaps even labeling it bizzare, that producers and composers alike would be unable to fit it into a genre of music. To be completely honest, I believe I failed miserbly short, and this is the omnious outcome. These songs took a hell of a told on the creator, myself, and forced me into a merciless downward spiral that unravled the foundation I so easily spread over my creations. I went back to basics. Started over and actually worked on the songs. Trying to fix every mistake, make sure it was perfect in it’s entirety before it was publically released. I learned this to be exremeley difficult, and tedious, I even stopped producing because of it. It took me a while to get over my musicians block, and I finally just learned to not give so much of a fuck when playing music. I totally forgot what music was about, having fun, and I was just trying to make something everyone could enjoy, not what I was proud of. Now here we are, a whole year spend trying to fix myself. I guess it’ll pay off in the long run… These songs are not my best, no where near it. They’re a year old now, memories long gone and past. I stopped working on them for months, letting them rot on my computer. So, I finally decided to polish them up and release them as is. I just want people to hear that I was infact working on music a little bit of that time we were on hiatus. I hope I never have to hear these songs again. Again, these songs are UNINFINISHED, but I hope you might still enjoy. -DUCKMAN
 
===============================================================
 
Joe Robertson (Emcee Duckman) – Vocals, Programming, Sampling, Producing, Mixing, Synthesizers, Recording – all music production – all everything.
 
Sam Robertson (The Mysterious Shredder) – Guitar contributions.
 
COPYRIGHT 2008-2009, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. ALL MATERIAL, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO, MUSIC, SAMPLES, IMAGES, CHARACTERS, AND LYRICS IS/ARE NOT TO BE USED WITHOUT PERMISSION FROM THE CREATOR. IF YOU DO NOT FOLLOW THIS, YOU WILL BE CONTACTED BY MY ATTORNEY.
Posted on September 16, 2011, in RR Releases and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

